
Summary of Alaska Wage and Hour Act 
 

 

Effective January 1, 2016, the Alaska minimum wage shall be $9.75 per hour. 

 

 

Alaska Statute 23.10.050 – 23.10.150 establishes minimum wage and overtime pay standards for employment subject to its provisions. These standards are 

generally applicable to all employees. School bus drivers, however, shall receive at least two times the Alaska minimum wage. Other exceptions to the 

minimum wage requirement follow. 

Alaska minimum wage and overtime requirements do not apply to any individual employed as follows: 

 

 In agriculture;  

 In the taking of aquatic life; or the hand picking of shrimp; 

 In domestic service (including babysitting) in or about a private 

home; 

 By U.S., state or local governments (i.e., political subdivisions); 

 In voluntary service in the nonprofit activities of a religious, 

charitable, cemetery, educational or other nonprofit organization 

which are related only to the organization’s nonprofit activities; 

 In a bona fide executive, professional or administrative capacity as 

defined in regulations of the Commissioner of Labor and 

Workforce Development and in the FLSA; or in certain computer 

occupations, or as an outside salesman, or as any salesman 

working on a straight commission basis; 

 Youth under age 18 employed part-time for not more than 30 

hours in any week; 

 An individual who is employed by a motor vehicle dealer and 

whose primary duty is to (a) receive, analyze or reference requests 

for service, repair or analysis of motor vehicles; (b) arrange 

financing for the sale of motor vehicles and related products and 

services that are part of the sale; or (c) solicit, sell, lease or 

exchange motor vehicles; 

 An individual who provides emergency medical services only on a 

voluntary basis; serves with a full-time fire department only on a 

voluntary basis; or provides ski patrol services on a voluntary 

basis;  

 A student participating in a University of Alaska practicum 

described under AS 14.40.065; 

 A person licensed under AS 08.54 and who is employed by a 

registered guide or master guide licensed under AS 08.54 for the 

first 60 workdays so employed during a calendar year; 

 An independent taxicab driver who establishes the driving area 

and hours, who contracts on a flat rate basis for use of the cab, 

permit or dispatch services, and who is compensated solely by the 

customers served; 

 Solely as a watchman or caretaker on a premises out of operation 

for longer than four months; 

 In delivery of newspapers to the consumer;  

 In the search for placer or hard rock minerals; 

 An individual engaged in activities for a nonprofit religious, 

charitable, civic, cemetery, recreational or educational 

organization where the employer-employee relationship does not, 

in fact, exist, and where services rendered to the organization 

under a work activity requirement of AS 47.27 (Alaska temporary 

assistance program); 

 By a nonprofit educational or child care facility to serve in place of 

a parent of children in residence if the employment requires 

residence at the facility and is compensated on a cash basis 

exclusive of room and board at an annual rate of not less than  

$10,000 for an unmarried person; or $15,000 for a married couple. 

 

Overtime Hours 

The standard workweek shall not exceed 40 hours per week or eight hours per day. Should an employer find it necessary to employ an employee in excess of 

these standards, overtime hours shall be compensated at the rate of one and one-half times the regular rate of pay. 
 

Compensation at the overtime rate is not required in the following cases: 

 

 By an employer who employs three or fewer people in the regular 

course of business;  

 An individual employed in handling, packing, storing, 

pasteurizing, drying, canning, or preparing in their raw or natural 

state agricultural or horticultural commodities for market, or in 

making cheese, butter or other dairy products;  

 Agricultural employees;  

 An employee employed as a seamen; 

 Workers engaged in planting or tending trees, cruising, surveying, 

bucking or felling timber, preparing or transporting logs or other 

forestry products to the mill, processing plant, railroad or other 

transportation terminal if the total number of employees in such 

lumber operations does not exceed 12; 

 An individual employed as an outside buyer of poultry, eggs, 

cream or milk in their raw or natural state; 

 Hospital employees whose duties include the provision of medical 

services; 

 An employee under a flexible work hour plan which is included as 

part of a collective bargaining agreement; 

 An employee under a voluntary flexible work plan if the employee 

and employer have signed a written agreement which has been 

approved by the Department (Overtime rates must be paid for 

work over 40 hours a week and over the hours specified on the 

flexible work hour plan not included in a collective bargaining 

agreement); 

 A community health aide employed by a local or regional health 

organization as those terms are defined in AS 18.28.100; 

 Work performed by certain flat-rate mechanics primarily engaged 

in servicing automobiles, light trucks, and motor homes, subject to 

certain and specific provisions (see AS 23.10.060(d)(17)); 

 An employee of a small mining operation where not more than 12 

people are employed, as long as the individual is not employed in 

excess of 12 hours per day or 56 hours per week during a period of 

not more than 14 workweeks in the aggregate in any calendar year 

during the mining season; 

 An employee employed in connection with publication of a 

weekly, semiweekly or daily newspaper with a circulation of less 

than 1000; 

 Casual employees as defined by regulations of the Commissioner 

of Labor and Workforce Development; 

 A line haul truck driver for a trip exceeding 100 road miles one 

way if the driver’s pay includes overtime pay for work in excess of 

40 hours per week or eight hours per day, and if the rate of pay is 

comparable to the minimum wage; 

 Work performed by an employee under a voluntary written 

agreement addressing the trading of work shifts among employees, 

if employed by an air carrier subject to subchapter II of the 

Railway Labor Act (45 U.S.C.181-188), including employment as 

a customer service representative, subject to certain provisions 

(see AS 23.10.060(d)(18)); 

 Work performed by a flight crew member employed by an air 

carrier subject to 45 U.S.C. 181-188 (subchapter II of the Railway 

Labor Act); 

 A switchboard operator employed in a public telephone exchange 

that has fewer than 750 stations; 

 An employee in otherwise exempted employment or a proprietor 

in a retail or service establishment engaged in handling 

telegraphic, telephone or radio messages under an agency or 

contract arrangement with a telegraph or communications 

company where the telegraph message or communications revenue 

of the agency does not exceed $500/month. 
 

NOTE: This is not a complete list of exemptions to minimum wage and overtime provisions. Refer to AS 23.10.055 and AS 23.10.060. The above text is 

intended for informational purposes only and is not to be construed as having the effect of law. 
 

Inquiries should be made to: Wage and Hour Administration, Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, 1251 Muldoon Road, Suite 113, 

Anchorage, AK 99504  Phone: (907) 269-4909  Email:  Anchorage.LSS-WH@alaska.gov 
 

Recordkeeping 

An employer shall keep for a period of at least three years all payroll information and records for each employee at the place of employment. 
 

 

Revised January 2016     Post in a Prominent Place  


